About the College

The Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, named after former University President and United States Senator J. William Fulbright, offers premier programs in the liberal arts at the University of Arkansas.

Consisting of three schools and 16 academic departments, the College offers degrees in the fine arts, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences. Several departments and the Dean's Office are in Old Main, home to Fulbright College and for many, the most beloved symbol of higher education in Arkansas.

Flourishing Honors Program

The College's flourishing Honors Program attracts the best students in the country and offers the Sturgis Fellowship, one of the university's premier scholarships. The average ACT of students in the College's Four-Year Scholars Program is 31.4. The Sturgis Honors Scholars Grants Program offers Fulbright Honors students funding for research projects and study abroad.

One of America's Best Buys

The U of A is one of "America's 100 Best College Buys," according to U.S. News and World Report. Princeton Review describes the university as "among the most affordable of major research universities" in the country.

Rewarding Careers

Corporate leaders, broadcasters, scholars, psychologists, scientists and performing artists. Alumnus Robert Maurer is the co-inventor of fiber optic cable, and Edith Irby Jones became the first black graduate from the University of Arkansas School for Medical Sciences. We strive to educate students not only for a career, but also for a lifetime.