About the School

The School of Art, in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, offers degrees in Art Education, Art History, Graphic Design and Studio Art, which includes Ceramics, Drawing, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, and SculptureX.

Quick Info

Interim Director                         Christopher Schulte 

Assistant Director              Gaby Hernández

Areas of Study
Art Education                                   Art History                                     Graphic Design                           Studio Art

School of Art Staff
Kayla Crenshaw,  Director of Administration and Communications

Full Staff Directory                   

Contact Us
(479) 575-5202

Fine Arts Center, School of Art
340 N. Garland
Fayetteville, AR 72701


As a part of the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Art aligns with the College mission, values, and land acknowledgement.


The Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences enriches lives by promoting discovery, diversity, and inclusion, facilitating transformational experiences, and fostering peace through education


_A Culture of Inclusion and Respect

_Academic Freedom

_All Individuals and Diverse Perspectives

_Discovery, Research, Creativity and Innovation

_Diversity, Civility and Cultural Competence

_Education, Access and Equity

_International Collaboration

 _Teaching and Service


Land Acknowledgement Statement:

The Indigenous history of the land the University of Arkansas campus sits on goes back to time immemorial, and across that expanse of time, many successive groups have lived here and created sacred legacies in this area. Fulbright College acknowledges Indigenous peoples were forced to leave their ancestral lands, including the Osage, Caddo and Quapaw Nations with ties to Northwest Arkansas. We further recognize that a portion of the Trail of Tears runs through our campus, and that the Cherokee, Choctaw, Muscogee (Creek), Chickasaw and Seminole Nations passed through what is now Arkansas during this forced removal. We acknowledge all Indigenous teachers, researchers and all other residents in our community and region today. We proudly offer Indigenous Studies in our college and seek continuity and connection to the past as we look to the future with increased collaboration with Indigenous governments and entities. We say to the Citizens of Indigenous Nations: We see you and we thank you. 

The mission of the School of Art in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences is to offer the highest quality educational, research, and service programs in the visual arts.

These goals encompass our professional and liberal arts programs, at both graduate and undergraduate levels, in art education, art history, graphic design, and studio art. We seek to recruit and retain a diverse, academically productive, and intellectually ambitious community of students, faculty, and staff to participate in these programs.

The School of Art aims to prepare students for graduate study and meaningful employment in the art and design fields and allied professions.

The School of Art is a part of the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences and aligns with the outlined mission, values, and land acknowledgement.

Over the past 10 years, the School of Art has gone through significant positive changes with the most dramatic in transformation occurring in the past five years.

The biggest change was growing from a Department of Art into the School of Art in fall 2017, made possible by a visionary gift from the Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation. The foundation’s $120 million gift was the largest ever given to a U.S. university in support of or to establish a school of art.

The gift also created the first and only school of art in the state of Arkansas, and is helping to propel art education, design, research and creative activity in the state forward while also providing unparalleled access and opportunity to students.

 The School of Art offers professional art degrees in many media areas, including Art Education, Art History, Ceramics, Drawing, Graphic Design, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture.

Degree Offerings Include:

_Bachelors in Art History

_Minor in Art History

_Bachelor of Arts, Studio

_Bachelor of Fine Arts, Art Education

_Bachelor of Fine Arts, Graphic Design

_Bachelor of Fine Arts, Studio

_Master of Fine Arts

Our state-of-the-art facilities have grown, expanded, and been upgraded, with future plans for significant expansion in the next few years.

Thanks to the Windgate Charitable Support Foundation and the transformational $40 million gift, the School of Art will create the new Windgate Art and Design District in the heart of south Fayetteville.

The district will feature several new buildings for art and design classrooms, labs, studios and potentially a public gallery space. The district will bring together art, design and education, while serving as the central hub for the student and faculty artists and designers at the University of Arkansas and beyond.

Below is a list of current School of Art facilities:

_Ceramics Studio

_Fine Arts Center Building

_Fine Arts Center Gallery

_Printmaking Studio

_Sculpture Studio

_sUgAR Gallery


The School of Art hosts an active Visiting Artists and Scholars Lecture Series, with a distinguished guest virtually every week during the regular spring and fall semesters. Visitors during the last five years include:

Ward Andrews

Radcliffe Bailey

Brett Baker

Taylor Baldwin

Ed Bernstein

Katherine Bradford

Andy Brayman

David Brooks

Diane Burko

Kendell Carter

Enrique Martinez Celaya

Michael Ray Charles

Nicole Cherubini

Uchay Joel Chima

Petah Coyne

Lesley Dill

Mark Dion

Craig Drennen

Leonardo Drew

Terry Evans

Daniel Feinberg

Leslie Friedman

Adam Frelin

Chie Fueki

Dr. Elizabeth Garber

Trenton Doyle Hancock

Adriane Herman

Scott Hilton

Lauren Kalman

Nina Katchadorian

Mary Reid Kelley

Amos Kennedy

Peter Kruty

Susan Lichtman

Dr. Adam Larner

Dr. Peju Layiwola

Kristin Lucas

Margaret Meehan

Joseph D’Uva

Thomas Lyon Mills

Kristin Morgin

Osamu James Nakagawa

Yoonmi Nam

Kenda North

Corey Oberlander

Dr. Vibeke Olson

Dennis O’Neill

Dr. Andrea Pearson

Sara Greenberger Rafferty

Mariah Robertson

Dr. Kate Rudy

Eric Sall

Paula Scher

Claire Sherman

Dr. Patricia Simons

Dr. Jenni Sorkin

Dr. Peg Spears

Jennifer Steinkamp

Jessica Stockholder

Dr. Mary Stockrocki

Jason Stopa

Mary Temple

Whiting Tennis

Hank Willis Thomas

Alex Webb

Dr. Jason Weems

Jill Wissmiller

Amanda Wojick

Jason Yi

Dr. Bernard Young

Molly Zuckerman-Hartung

Northwest Arkansas is home to many different arts organizations and events, and arts programming in the region is plentiful. Being immersed in the Northwest Arkansas community is incredibly important to our mission as a school.

The school enjoys a close proximity and strong relationship with  Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art and other local arts organizations and maintains an active presence in the art community.

The U.S. News & World Report  ranked  Fayetteville, Arkansas number three in the 2019 Best Places to Live in the United States.