Spring Lecture Series

42st Annual Spring Lecture Series

This conference is supported by the National Science Foundation and the University of Arkansas and is being organized by Mark Johnson, Lance Miller, and Paolo Mantero. Funds may be available to help defray participants’ expenses.

Recent Ph.D.’s, graduate students, women and members of underrepresented groups are especially encouraged to apply for financial support and are encouraged to web register as soon as possible.

The principal speaker for the Lecture Series is Professor Robert Lazarsfeld, Stony Brook University. Through a series of five talks, “Geometry and the Equations Defining Projective Varieties", he will discuss the recent progress on the syzygies of smooth projective varieties. 

A Public Lecture will be given by Aaron Bertam (University of Utah) on "Tropical Mathematics."

The University of Arkansas Spring Lecture series are conferences organized every spring by the Department of Mathematical Sciences of the University of Arkansas. Each conference is focused on a specific topic chosen among the current leading research areas in Mathematics; a principal lecturer delivers a short, five-lecture course and selects a number of specialists who are invited to give talks on subjects closely related to the topic of the conference. Short talks by young Ph.D.s and finishing graduate students are solicited to complement the conference. Each Lecture Series has grown into an ideal opportunity for specialists and young researchers to meet and exchange ideas about topics at the forefront of modern mathematics.

The Spring Lectures is sponsored by the NSF jointly with the University of Arkansas.

Invited researchers from national and international institutions will present additional lectures:

  • Dan Erman (University of Wisconsin)
  • Greg Smith (Queen's College)
  • Wenbo Niu (University of Arkansas)
  • Marian Aprodu (University of Bucharest)
  • Lawrence Ein (University of Illinois-Chiacago)
  • Sijong Kawk (KAIST)
  • Jason McCullough (Rider University)
  • Jinhyung Park (Korea Institute for Advanced Study)
  • Brook Ullery (Harvard University)
  • Juergen Rathmann (Munchen, Germany)

Contributed talks are welcome (time limit 15 minutes + 5 minutes Q&A).