

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Personnel

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

<u>Facebook</u>

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200-seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which is slated for a full renovation starting December 2022.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at music@uark.edu, or visit music.uark.edu.





Download accessible copy of this program

CONSIDERING MATTHEW SHEPARD

Music by Craig Hella Johnson Text by Michael Dennis Browne, Lesléa Newman, Craig Hella Johnson

SCHOLA CANTORUM

Dr. Stephen Caldwell, director

Lisa Auten, piano

Dr. Er-Gene Kahng, violin

Dr. Timothy MacDuff, viola

Dr. Pecos Singer, cello

Jerry Lane, bass

Hunter Anderson, guitar

Manchusa Loungsanggroong, clarinet

Chalon Ragsdale and Juan Santos, percussion

Cori Matney and Jaxon Krueger, auxiliary percussion

7:30pm, Saturday, April 15, 2023 Jim & Joyce Faulkner Performing Arts Center University of Arkansas

CONTENT WARNING: the performance of this work includes descriptions of violence and the use of a gay slur.

PROGRAM

PROLOGUE

1. Cattle, Horses, Sky, and Grass

Clayton Davis, solo

2. Ordinary Boy

Talina Woods, solo Dalton Jones, solo

3. We Tell Each Other Stories

Kariman Alsein, solo

PASSION

4. Recitation 1

Alyssa Martinez, narrator

5. The Fence (before)

Drew Daniels, solo

6. Recitation 2

Peyton Werner, narrator

7. The Fence (that night)

Garrett Cash, solo

8. Recitation 3

Gavin Miller, narrator

9. A Protestor

10. Keep it Away From Me (The Wound of Love)

Summer Matlock, solo Emma Davis, Ceci Allen, Lauren Launhardt, trio

11. Recitation 4

Crystal Espinoza, narrator

12. Fire of the Ancient Heart

Cole Jackson, solo

13. Recitation 5

Emma Price, narrator

14. Stray Birds

15. We Are All Sons

16. I Am Like You

17. The Innocence

18. Recitation 6

lan Gelicame, narrator

19. The Fence (one week later)

Kalista Brown, solo

20. Recitation 7

William Oliver, narrator

21. Stars

David Lykins, narrator

22. Recitation 8

Avery Golz, narrator

23. In Need of Breath

Connor Gustafson, solo

24. Gently Rest (Deer Lullaby)

25. Recitation 9

Evan Goforth, narrator

26. Deer Song (Mist on Mountains)

Emma Price, Peyton Werner, Nathalie Arias, trio

27. Recitation 10

Leah Foster, narrator

28. The Fence (after) / The Wind

Emma Scott, Evan Goforth, Davis Vaughn, Isabelle Pennick, Ian Gelicame Leah Foster, Kalista Brown, solos

EPILOGUE

30. Meet Me Here

Talina Woods, solo

31. Thank You

Emma Davis, Lauren Launhardt, Davis Vaughn, trio

32. All of <u>Us</u>

Ceci Allen, Kariman Alsein, Summer Matlock, trio

32. Reprise: This Chant of Life (Cattle, Horses, Sky, and Grass)

Clayton Davis, solo Avery Golz, narrator

PERSONNEL

SOPRANO
Kariman Alsein
Emma Davis
Emma Price
Ceci Allen
Isabelle Pennick
Nathalie Arias
Kalista Brown
Emma Scott
Leah Foster
Karley Jones
Peyton Werner
Dannah McDouga
Helena Hanson
Talina Woods

ALTO
Crystal Espinoza
Lizbeth Lopez
Carmen Dietrich
Madeleine Amox
Valeria Quintanilla
Amy Underwood
Grace Clark
Lauren Launhardt
Andi Aguayo
Summer Matlock
Samara Crouse
Ashton Morren
Alyssa Martinez

Avery Golz
Dalton Jones
lan Gelicame
Hunter Mills
Kevin Willis
Nathan Edwards
Garrett Cash
Connor Gustafson
Gavin Miller
Alexander Garcia
Nicholas Turney
Clayton Davis

TENOR

James Morningstar
Jonathan Rosas
Evan Goforth
Cole Jackson
William Oliver
John Kimita Njenga
Gavin Engholm
Titus Sutterfield
Davis Vaughn
Edwin Soto
Drew Daniel
Matt Sandusky
David Lykins

BASS