UARKMUSIC 2022-2023 SEASON

CONTENTS

text that is bolded and underlined is a hyperlink or bookmark that can be clicked or tapped for more information

View the program

Personnel

Upcoming events

Your support matters

STAY CONNECTED

Sign up for newsletter

find us on social media

<u>Facebook</u>

<u>Instagram</u>

Twitter

YouTube

ABOUT MUSIC

The University of Arkansas is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music and the Department of Music is housed within the Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences.

Home to over 300 music students and fifty faculty members, we offer a variety of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Department faculty and students perform over 400 concerts per year, on and off campus. Large concerts are performed at the 600-seat Faulkner Performing Arts Center that opened in 2015. Chamber and solo recitals are primarily presented at the 200-seat Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall, which is slated for a full renovation starting December 2022.

For more information, find us on social media or contact us at (479) 575-4701, email us at **music@uark.edu**, or visit **music.uark.edu**.





JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Download accessible copy of this program

JAZZ ORCHESTRA Dr. Rick Salonen, director

7:30pm, Wednesday, April 19, 2023 Jim & Joyce Faulkner Performing Arts Center University of Arkansas

PROGRAM

Impressions

John Coltrane arr. Mark Taylor Soloists: Jaden Evans / Nathan Leder

Mira, Mira

arr. Alex Wiegel Jaden Evans / Nathan Leder

Shofukan

Snarky Puppy arr. Salonen Soloists: Evan Wood / Coyd Lycas

Pea Shooter

Jeff Lopez Soloists: Lucas Durnhofer / Alex Wiegel

Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most

Wolf & Landesman arr. Frank Mantooth Soloist: Doug Harnish

Mars

Gustav Mahler arr. Salonen Soloists: Derek Salonen / Eli Dranow

INTERMISSION

Magic Flea

Sammy Nestico Soloists: Dylan Engholm / Eli Dranow

The Name's Bond...James Bond

David Arnold arr. Alex Wiegel Soloist: Dylan Engholm

Theme

Alex Wiegel Soloist: Max Morrow

I Could Write a Book

Rodgers & Hart arr. Darmon Meader Soloists: Voices Ensemble / Zac Springer

L.O.V.E.

Kaempfert & Gabler Soloists: De'Von L. Smith / Kyra Brockhausen

The Lady Is A Tramp

Rodgers & Hart Soloist: De'Von L. Smith

Not For Now

corto alto arr. R. Salonen Soloists: D. Smith / Evan Wood / Cody Lucas

Tank

Yoko Kanno arr. Eric Dannewitz ^{Soloist:} Max Morrow

PERSONNEL

Vocals: De'Von L. Smith Flute: Emmi Miller Alto Sax: Max Morrow Alto Sax: Nathan Leder Tenor Sax: Dylan Engholm Tenor Sax: Lucas Durnhofer Bari Sax: Derek Salonen Trumpet: Kyra Brockhausen Trumpet: Gavin Amos Trumpet: Erika Borgeson Trumpet: Zac Springer Trumpet: Jaden Evans Trombone: Doug Harnish Trombone: Evan Wood Trombone: Daniel Bartley Trombone: Jake Sasser Guitar: Cody Lucas Guitar: Dylan Wenino Bass: Marco Wimer Drums: Alex Wiegel Percussion: Christopher Perea-Aguilar Percussion: Jaxon Krueger

return to top