

May 11, 2023 | 6:00pm Faulkner Performing Arts Center



Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences

ORDER OF PROGRAM

"Lift Every Voice and Sing," arr. Roland Carter Inspirational Chorale

Welcome and Introduction of the Faculty
Dr. Lia Uribe

Introduction of Speaker Dr. Jake Hertzog

Commencement Address Dr. Er-Gene Kahng

"The Nearness of You," Hoagy Carmichael, arr. Jared Graves
Voices Ensemble

Presentation of Awards Dr. Jeffrey Allen Murdock

Outstanding Area Awards

MUSIC EDUCATION STRINGS
Kaleigh Alwood Jayne Jostad
MUSIC THEORY KEYBOARD
Abigail Short Callie Maurer
MUSICOLOGY WOODWINDS

Leah Foster Lee Ross
JAZZ BRASS

Max Morrow David Slutsky
GUITAR PERCUSSION
Cody Lucas Yoshio Yamashita

Most Outstanding Orchestra Member Dayton Strick

Janice Yoes Award for Vocal Excellence Henedina Davies, Zoie Benton

Harry Budd Inspirational Chorale Founders Award Sonya Faulknor, Dekarius Dawson

Richard Brothers Schola Cantorum Founders Award Davis Vaughn

Presser Foundation Award Leah Foster Pi Kappa Lambda Honor Society Induction Dr. Matthew Mihalka

Sonya Faulknor, Connor Gustafson, Brittany Headen, Sarah Reed, Abigail Tanner, Dr. Jeffrey Allen Murdock

Presentation of the Graduates Prof. Henry Runkles

Closing Remarks
Prof. Chalon Ragsdale

University of Arkansas Alma Mater Inspirational Chorale

Nathan Alexander, Music EDUCATION

2023 MUSIC GRADUATES

BACHELORS

FALL 2022

Kaleigh Alwood, MUSIC EDUCATION/THEORY Roxee Boyd, MUSIC EDUCATION MarvFrances Bressler, Music Education Beniamin Cook, BA MUSIC John Mark Junkins, MUSIC EDUCATION Kevin Miller, MUSIC EDUCATION Megan Park, Music Education DJ Talbot, MUSIC EDUCATION Mason Thomas, Music Education SPRING 2023 Eric Aguilar, MUSIC EDUCATION Brady Callicott, BA MUSIC Grace Clark, PERFORMANCE Olivia Harrison, PERFORMANCE Sidney Hudelson, PERFORMANCE Elliot Huels, BM WITH BUSINESS ELECTIVES Shamar Inclan, BA MUSIC Jayne Jostad, MUSIC EDUCATION Madeline Kendall, MUSIC EDUCATION Peyton Lickfelt, MUSIC EDUCATION Jack Mason, BA MUSIC Max Morrow, COMPOSITION/JAZZ STUDIES Ema Plafcan, BA MUSIC

Lee Ross, Music Education/Performance

Cat Tran, BA MUSIC
Jenna Wheeler, BA MUSIC
Alex Wiegel, JAZZ STUDIES
Erica Wilson, MUSIC EDUCATION
Yoshio Yamashita, COMPOSITION

MASTERS

Andi Aguayo, music education
Dekarius Dawson, voice performance
Sonya Faulknor, music education/performance
Juan Garcia Hernandez, voice performance
Britanny Headen, voice performance
Sung Kun Jung, piano performance
Keven Kraus, trombone performance
Christian Leon, percussion performance
Dylan Matheny, saxophone performance
Sarah Reed, clarinet performance
Juan Santos-Sierra, percussion performance
De'Von L. Smith, voice performance

GRADUATE CERTIFICATES

Tlaloc Perales, ADVANCED PERFORMANCE David Slutsky, ADVANCED PERFORMANCE Lea Wehnau, SPECIAL NEEDS MUSIC ED Cecilia Taher, SPECIAL NEEDS MUSIC ED The Department of Music wants to thank all students, faculty, and staff for a wonderful year of excitement and success.

Special thanks to the Department's many student organizations for their service, special events, and hard work, often behind the scenes:

Allies+ in Music
Collegiate Percussive Arts Society
Hill Records
Inspire
Kappa Kappa Psi - Lambda
Music Teachers National Association
MP3 - Music Performers, Producers, and Professionals
National Association for Music Education
Phi Mu Alpha - Alpha Omicron
Saxophone Society at the University of Arkansas
Sigma Alpha Iota - Sigma Omicron
Tau Beta Sigma - Psi
University Strings

