DEI Council

Purpose of College DEI Council

Members serve as college representatives identifying, recommending, supporting, and advising the Dean of Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences and the Dean’s leadership team on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion issues, key strategic programs, and initiatives. Members also serve as advocates for diversity, equity and inclusion for the College of Arts and Sciences and the U of A campus community at large.

Meet our DEI Council Members


Erika Mariana Almenara

Erika Mariana Almenara, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Spanish, World Languages, Literatures and Cultures


Kate Chapman

Kate Chapman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Psychological Science

Alex Alvarez 

Alex Alvarez 

Undergraduate Student, Political Science, International and Global Studies

Michelle Evans White

Michelle Evans White, Ph.D.

Professor, Graduate Studies Chair, Director of EcoREU Program, Department of Biological Sciences 

Ryan Calabretta Sajder

Ryan Calabretta Sajder, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Italian, World Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Hershel Hartford

Hershel Hartford

Administrative Support Supervisor, Department of Communication





Jeannie Hulen

Jeannie  Hulen

Associate Dean and Professor of Art, Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences


Kaleb Austin Turner

Kaleb A. Turner

Assistant Director of Communications,Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences


Romona West

Romona West, J.D.

Director, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion,

Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences,

DEI College Council, Chair

Shauna Morimoto

Shauna Morimoto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology and Criminology

Christy Wear

Christy S. Wear

Administrative Support Supervisor, Department of Philosphy


Tamia White

Tamia White

Undergraduate Student, Business Management and Political Science Major, African and African American Studies Minor

Christin Mujica

Christin Mujica

Graduate Student Clinical Psychology, Doctoral Student


Samantha Robinson

Samantha Robinson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences





DEI College Council Actions 2020-2021

  • April 2020, first inaugural Arts and Sciences College DEI committee formed as DEI College Council.
  • Summer 2020, Council took actions to address inequities due to the pandemic and support the campus during times of racial unrest.
    1. Connected with campus partners and Dean of Students to advocate for student access to education in the virtual space (internet access, laptops, and necessary equipment for virtual classes). Dean of Students and ARSC Dean’s Office provided support on as needed basis and campus wi-fi increased along with maps indicated locations for wi-fi.
    2. Supported efforts to increase graduate student funding with GPSC.
    3. Supported virtual online peer review for graduate students by supplying TIPS and TFSC information on benefits.
    4. Connected with Department of Communications about TA training to assist TAs on how to facilitate civility in the classroom and sensitivity regarding racism, inequity, and politics. Graduate students received various training the week before classes started (including DEI topics – Thanks to the Graduate School).
  • September 2020, Council members completed Individual Development Assessments and Cultural Competency workshop as a team.
  • Compiled list of resources to support students and was available to council members to share.
  • Crafted letter to Chancellor’s Committee on Fulbright and Brough, on behalf of Council, to support removal of Brough name, Fulbright college name and Fulbright statue from campus.
  • October 2020, Council created goals and formed subcommittees to work on the following goals:
    1. Identify, recommend, support, advocate and advise on DEI issues, program, initiatives and needs of the College of Arts and Sciences.
    2. Develop strategy to hire and attract more diverse administrators, faculty, staff, and students.
    3. Create a sense of belonging for our diverse student population.
      • Developed “You of A: An Anthology of UARK Student Voices” Project (in progress); creative way for students to express their unique perspectives and experiences on campus.
    4. Develop D&I College Reports.
    5. Create a nested mentoring network for students, staff, and faculty.
      • Supports and Advocates for Bridge Program for faculty (TT and NTT track receive welcoming team and success team of mentors)
      • Supports and Advocates for Razorlink Mentoring program (faculty and staff serve as mentors for students)
  • April 2021, College Faculty voted to make Faculty DEI Committee a standing committee. Two faculty members from this committee will serve on College Cabinet.  Faculty DEI Committee members are part of the DEI College Council. 
  • Throughout the year, the Council acknowledged many individual accomplishments of their members and other DEI efforts across campus, attended and supported DEI workshops and supported DEI unit plan efforts.
  • Council convened 10 times.