Featured Stories

Supporting the Future

Nearly 10 years ago, shortly after earning degrees in geology and securing their first career jobs in the field, Shane Matson (B.S. ‘01, M.S. ‘07), Eddie Valek (M.S. ‘99) and Clayton Yarri Davis (B.S. ‘04, M.S. ‘07) joined together with a group of alumni and friends and became philanthropists – making their first annual gift to their alma mater to benefit the Department of Geosciences. In 2007, Maston, Valek and Davis helped lead the effort to establish the Doy L. Zachry Endowed Scholarship and the Walter L. Manger Endowed Scholarship, which are each awarded annually. As with so many ambitious ideas, this endeavor began with a simple conversation among friends.

Nine Students, Seven Countries, One Dream

For more than 20 years the Roy and Christine Sturgis Educational Trust has helped redefine what is possible for Fulbright College students around the globe. The initial gift established the Sturgis Fellowship, the University of Arkansas’ oldest fellowship, which gives incoming freshmen a four-year stipend for tuition, educational supplies and international travel. In 2014, the trust extended its support by creating the Sturgis International Fellows Program. The program supports undergraduate honors students and graduate students with creative international learning opportunities and promotes J. William Fulbright's legacy of peace through education by encouraging mutual understanding between exceptional young scholars and people from other countries around the world. 

Other Stories


Fulbright College Announces 2015 Connor Faculty Fellows

The J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas recently selected its 2015 class of Connor Faculty Fellows. Thirteen outstanding assistant professors were awarded this honor and given funds to support their career development.

Carrie Banton

Fulbright College Announces 2015 Winners of King, Nolan, OMNI Awards

The J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Arkansas has selected the recipients of three endowed faculty awards. Angela LaPorte, associate professor of art, was recognized with the John E. King Award for Outstanding Service, Beth Schweiger, associate professor of history, was given the Nolan Faculty Award, and Caree Banton, assistant professor of history and African and African American studies, won the OMNI Center for Peace, Justice and Ecology Faculty Award.

2015 Henry Woods

Jocelyn Murphy and Dennis Burchette Receive Henry Woods Student Leadership Award

Two graduating seniors from the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences – Jocelyn Murphy and Dennis Burchette – recently received the annual Henry Woods Student Leadership Award.

Ray Thornton

Thornton's Papers Now Available at U of A Libraries' Special Collections

University of Arkansas Libraries announce the opening of the Ray Thornton Papers (Manuscript Collection 1964).

Reagan Sisters

Short Takes Video Highlights Women's Giving Circle

A group of women connected by their deep appreciation and  support of the University of Arkansas – that’s the essence of the Women’s Giving Circle. The group, created in 2002, supports numerous mentorship programs, student initiatives, research projects and other worthwhile efforts on campus, in the community and across Arkansas. Since its inception, the Women’s Giving Circle has awarded nearly $1 million to worthy university projects.