Geosciences Directory

TENURED, TENURE-TRACK FACULTY

Dr. Mohamed Aly
Assistant Professor of Geography and Geology
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
InSAR, GPS, GIS, Crustal Deformation Modeling, and Geohazard Assessment
JBHT 319
479-575-4524
ALY@UARK.EDU
Dr. Stephen Boss

STEPHEN

BOSS

Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of North Carolina
Geophysics, Marine Geology, Lacustrine Geology, Earth Systems, Sustainability Studies
SBOSS@UARK.EDU 
Dr. Linyin Chang

LINYIN

CHENG

Assistant Professor of Geography
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine
Climate Studies
 GEAR 230
479-575-5569
LC032@UARK.EDU
Dr. Jack Cothren

JACK

COTHREN

Professor of Geography
Ph.D. Ohio State University
Geospatial Methodologies
JCOTHRE@UARK.EDU
Dr. Matthew Covington

MATT

COVINGTON

Associate Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of California Santa Cruz
Hydrogeology, Geomorphology, Karst, and Glacial Hydrology
MCOVING@UARK.EDU
Dr. Fiona Davidson

FIONA

DAVIDSON

Associate Professor of Geography
Vice Chair
Ph.D. University of Nebraska
Political Geography, European Studies, Urban Morphology & Planning
FDAVIDSO@UARK.EDU
Dr. Ralph Davis

RALPH

DAVIS

Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of Nebraska
Hydrogeology, Contaminant Transport, Water Resources Management
RALPHD@UARK.EDU
Dr. Gregory Dumond

GREG

DUMOND

Associate Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts Amherst
Structural Geology and Tectonics
GDUMOND@UARK.EDU
Dr. Song Feng

SONG

FENG

Associate Professor of Geography
Ph.D. Chinese Academy of Sciences
Climate Change, Paleoclimates
SONGFENG@UARK.EDU
Dr. Edward C. Holland

EDWARD C.

HOLLAND 

Assistant Professor of Geography
Ph.D. University of Colorado at Boulder
Political Geography, Cultural Geography, International Studies, Geography of Conflict and Political Violence, Geography of Religion, Regional Geographies of Europe and Eurasia
ECHOLLAN@UARK.EDU
Dr. Andrew Lamb

ANDREW P.

LAMB

Assistant Professor of Geology
Ph.D. Boise
Geophysics
Dr. Fred Limp

FRED

LIMP

University Professor of Geography
Leica Chair in Geospatial Imaging
Ph.D. Indiana University
Geomatics applications to world heritage, Geospatial interoperability, 3D data acquisition methods and theory
FLIMP@UARK.EDU
Dr. Christopher Liner

CHRISTOPHER

LINER

Department of Geosciences Chair   
Maurice Storm Endowed Chair
Professor of Geology
Ph.D. Colorado School of Mines
Geophysics and Petroleum Geology
LINER@UARK.EDU
Dr. Jill Marshall

JILL

MARSHALL

Assistant Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of Oregon
Quantitative Geomorphology and Critical Zone Science
Dr. Thomas Paradise

THOMAS

PARADISE

University Professor of Geography
Ph.D. Arizona State University
Hazards, Historic Preservation, Cartography, Geomorphology, Middle East & Mediterranean Geography (with the Fahd Middle East Center)
PARADISE@UARK.EDU
Dr. Adriana Potra

ADRIANA

POTRA

Assistant Professor of Geology
Ph.D. Florida International University
Ore Geology and Radiogenic Isotope Geochemistry
Dr. Glenn Sharman

GLENN

SHARMAN

Assistant Professor of Geology
Ph.D.  Stanford
Petroleum Geology
Dr. John B. Shaw

JOHN B.

SHAW

Assistant Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of Texas Austin
Sedimentology
SHAW84@UARK.EDU
Dr. David Stahle

DAVID

STAHLE

Distinguished Professor of Geography
Ph.D. Arizona State University
Global Change, Dendrochronology, Paleoclimatology, Ancient Forests
DSTAHLE@UARK.EDU
Dr. Celina Suarez

CELINA

SUAREZ

Associate Professor of Geology
Ph.D. University of Kansas
Stable Isotope, Low-Temperature Geochemistry, Paleontology
CASUAREZ@UARK.EDU
Dr. Daniel Sui

DANIEL

SUI

Distinguished Professor of Geography
Ph.D.  University of Georgia
GIS and Geospatial Analysis
DSUI@UARK.EDU

 
Dr. Jason Tullis

JASON

TULLIS

Professor of Geography
Ph.D. University of South Carolina
Remote Sensing, GIS, Ecosystem Services
JATULLIS@UARK.EDU
       

 

 RESEARCH FACULTY

Dr. Phil Hays

PHIL HAYS

Research Professor of Geology

Ph.D. Texas A & M
Hydrogeology, Stable Isotope Geochemistry

PDHAYS@UARK.EDU

Dr. Barry Shaulis

 BARRY SHAULIS

 Research Associate
Ph.D. University of Houston
GEAR 267
479-575-3355
Dr. Seth Warn

SETH WARN

Research Assistant Professor

OakRidge
JBHT 352
swarn@uark.edu

 

   

  

INSTRUCTORS

Paula Anderson

Ms. Paula Anderson

M.S. Geology, University of Arkansas

PEA001@UARK.EDU

Rashauna Hintz

Ms. Rashauna Mickens Hintz

M..S Geography, University of Arkansas

RMICKEN@UARK.EDU

Dr. Henry Turner

Dr. Henry Turner

Ph.D. Space and Planetary Sciences, University of Arkansas

HTURNER@UARK.EDU  

   

   ADJUNCT FACULTY

Dr. Dorian Burnette

Dr. Dorian Burnette

Ph.D. University of Arkansas

Robert Liner

M.S. University of Arkansas

rliner@stephenspro.com

Dr. Thomas McGilvery
GEAR 218, 479-575-4835
Ph.D. University of Texas Austin
Mr. Steve Milligan
M.S. Colorado School of MinesSeismic Acquisition and Interpretation

sem024@uark.edu

       
Chris Moyer
M.S. University of Arkansas

chrismoyer3@gmail.com

GEOS_logo
Dr. Fred Paillet
Ph.D. University of Rochester
Surface and Borehole Geophysics; Hydrogeology

fredp@cox.net

Erik Pollock 
M.S. University of Arkansas
Stable Isotope Research and Methods

epolloc@uark.edu

GEOS_logo

 Mr. Phillip Shelby

M.S. University of Arkansas

prshelby@cox.net

Jamie Woolsey

Ms. Jamie Woolsey

M.S. University of Arkansas

  

 EMERITUS FACULTY

Dr. Van Brahana
Ph.D. University of Missouri
Physical Hydrogeology, Groundwater Flow, Karst Hydrogeology

brahana@UARK.EDU

Dr. Malcolm Cleaveland
Ph.D. University of Arizona
Dendrochronology, Paleoclimatology, GIS

mcleavel@UARK.EDU

Dr. John C. Dixon

Dr. John C. Dixon

Ph.D. University of Colorado
Geomorphology, Weathering and Soils, Geoarcheology, Alpine Geography

jcdixon@UARK.EDU

Dr. Thomas O. Graff
Ph.D. University of Kansas
Human Geography, Retail Site Locational Analysis

tgraff@UARK.EDU

Dr. Margaret Guccione
Ph.D. University of Colorado
Quaternary Geology, Fluvial Geomorphology, Geomorphic expression of Paleoseismic Events

guccione@UARK.EDU

Dr. John Hehr

Dr. John Hehr

Ph.D. Michigan State University
Meteorology, Climatology, Paleoclimatology, Global Change
jghehr@UARK.EDU
Lynne Hehr
MS University of Arkansas
Dr. Ron Konig
Ph.D. Cornell University
Physical Geology and Structural Geology of Northern Arkansas

rhkonig@UARK.EDU

Dr. Walter Manger
Ph.D. University of Iowa
Paleontology, Regional Stratigraphy & Sedimentology
wmanger@UARK.EDU
Dr. Richard Smith
D.A. University of Northern Colorado
Cartography

rsmith@uark.edu



Dr. Ken Steele
Ph.D. University of North Carolina
Geochemistry, Ground Water Chemistry, Stream Water Quality, Hydrogeology

ksteele@UARK.EDU

Dr. Doy Zachry
Ph.D. University of Texas
Stratigraphy

dzachry@UARK.EDU

  

STAFF 

Jackie Shearman Lisa Milligan

lmilliga@UARK.EDU

   
Ashley Chua

Ms. Ashley Chua

   

  

Click here for our current graduate students