Alum TJ Holmes in lab

SJSM graduates have gone on to work in satisfying careers in media for companies big, small and in between. Our students have learned the art of storytelling by graduation, becoming savvy media professionals in the process. We've seen our alumni go into documentary filmmaking, blogging, investigative reporting, public relations, marketing and so many other fields that involve media.

Notable alumni include TJ Holmes, Sue Walk Burnett and many current faculty like Gerald Jordan and Larry Foley.

The journey doesn't end at commencement—all graduates are considered a part of the SJSM family. Alumni can now stay connected to happenings at the school and learn ways to support through our new alumni-oriented newsletter: Email to sign up.

Alumni should also check out the Lemke Journalism Alumni Society. Boasting a network of 675 members, the Alumni Society exists to nurture and strengthen the connections of alums from SJSM. Membership also comes with perks, including alumni discounts at participating venues, job and business opportunities, awards programs and so much more.



Tevin Wooten alumnus

Tevin Wooten is a 2014 University of Arkansas alumnus with a bachelor’s degree in broadcast journalism. He has been hired as an on-camera meteorologist for The Weather Channel.

"Tevin has been focused on a career in weather reporting for years, and he's earned this new opportunity. He pioneered weather coverage at UATV, the campus TV station, and he received national recognition for team coverage of the Faulkner County tornado when he was an undergrad. Tevin is not only a hard working, talented pro, but he's a wonderful person, and we're really proud of him. He's come a long way from when he arrived on our campus from Camden, yet he remains humble and totally connected to his roots."

Larry Foley, Chair of the School of Journalism and Strategic Media, speaks on his experience in teaching and working with Tevin Wooten. Read more about Tevin's new career venture.


Stay connected to SJSM
School of Journalism and Strategic Media
University of Arkansas
116 Kimpel Hall
Fayetteville AR 72701
Phone: 479-575-3601
Fax: 479-575-4341
Larry Foley, Department Chair
Dale Carpenter, Graduate Program Director