Full Speaker Series

The School of Art is dedicated to bringing in renowned artists, designers, and scholars to the University of Arkansas to provide students and the community comprehensive experiences in the practice and study of fine arts and design. 

Quick Info

Kayla Crenshaw, director of admin & communications                      


Contact Us
(479) 575-5202

Visiting Lecture Location
Hillside Auditorium,             Room 206
902 W. Dickson St.
Fayetteville, AR 72701


Welcome to the School of Art Visiting Lecture Series. 

These programs are made possible through the generous support of the Walton Family Charitable Support Foundation and the Joy Pratt Markham Visiting Lecture Endowment. These lectures would not be possible without their contributions.

_Alex Paik, Artist, Founder and Director of Tiger Stikes Asteroid, a non-profit network of artist run spaces and organizes Correspondence Archieve, an online series of conversations between artists of color.

Due to inclement weather, the School of Art will now host Paik's lecture virtually, today, Thursday, Feb. 2 at 5:30 p.m.

Join the webinar at: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88108499243 

_Carmen Winant, Artist and the Roy Lichtenstein Chair of Studio Art at The Ohio State University

Thursday, March 9 at 5:30 p.m.,  Hillside Auditorium, 206

_J.T. Eisenhauer Richardson,  Associate Professor of Art Education at The Ohio State University

Thursday, March 30 at 5:30 p.m.,  Hillside Auditorium, 206

_Rick Griffith, Graphic Designer and Design Director of MATTER, Denver's only design studio, manufactory, and revoluntionary bookstore

Thursday, April 6 at 5:30 p.m.,  Hillside Auditorium, 206

_Dr. Rachel Grace Newman,  Assistant Arofessor, Art of the Colonial Caribbean and African Diaspora at Temple University

Thursday, April 13 at 5:30 p.m.,  Hillside Auditorium, 206


_Olivian Cha, Curator and Collections Manager of the Corita Art Center

Thursday September 15 at 5:30 p.m., Hillside Auditorium, 202

_Ari Melenciano, Creative Technologist at Google's Creative Lab, professor at NYU's Interactive Telecommunications Graduate Program, and founder of Afrotectopia.

Thursday October 6 at 5:30 p.m.

Webinar link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81858107577 

_Nikki Greene, Associate Professor of Art History at Wellesley College and a Visiting Scholar at the Cogut Institute for the Humanities at Brown University.

Thursday November 3 at 5:30 p.m.

Webinar info: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83857965798 

_Tyler Denmead, Associate Professor at the Faculty of Education, University of Cambridge. 

Thursday November 10 at 5:30 p.m., Hillside Auditorium, 202

_Matt Bollinger, Artist

Thursday November 17 at 5:30 p.m., Hillside Auditorium, 202

_Chloë Bass, Multiform conceptual artist working in performance, situation, conversation, publication, and installation.

Thursday December 1 at 5:30 p.m., Hillside Auditorium, 202


Dori Tunstall

Simphiwe Ndzube

Michelle  Bae-Dimitriadis

Josephine Halverson


Kameelah Janan Rasheed

Michelle McCoy

Matty Davis

Dana Frankfort

Matt Ducklo

Zach Feuer

Amy Elkins

Adam Welch

Dr. Rachel Z. DeLue

Barb Smith

Santa Barraza

Daniel Peterson

Michael Yip

Andrew Watkin

Carrie Moyer

Emma Nishimara

Matty Davis

Alicia Eggert

Jamie Warren

Zach Feuer

Dana Frankfort

Corin Hewitt

Future Revival

Jelili Atiku


Sarah Greenberger Rafferty

Mike Calway-Fagen

Yoonmi Nam

Dr. Bernard Young

Osamu James Nakagawa

Nicole Cherubini

Janet Ballweg

Thomas Lyon Mills

Anthony Stellaccio

Ken Kewley

Molly Zuckerman-Hartung

Antionette Caroll

Dr. Patricia Simons


Spring 2021

_Jan. 25, 6 p.m., Art Education and Center for the Study of Childhood At invites all to:

Dr. Sylvia Kind and Dr. Cristina Delgado Vintimilla virtual talk, 'Choreographies of Practice: Mutualities & Sympoetic Becomings in Early Childhood Education.' Preregister at: http://ow.ly/JzEg50D9to5

_University of Arkansas McIlroy Family Visiting Professorship Lecture + Roundtable

Co-organized by the School of Art, the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, and the Art Bridges Foundation


_11:30-12:30: lecture, Philip J. Deloria, Leverett Saltonstall Professor of History, Harvard University

_12:30-1 p.m.: break

_1:2:30 p.m.: roundtable

  • Roundtable participants:
  • Philip J. Deloria, Standing Rock Sioux, Leverett Saltonstall Professor of History, Harvard University
  • Dyani White Hawk, Sičangu Lakota, artist
  • Wanda Nanibush, Anishinaabe-kwe, Curator of Indigenous Art, Art Gallery of Ontario
  • Georgina Uhlyarik, Fredrik S. Eaton Curator of Canadian Art, Art Gallery of Ontario
  • Amy Lonetree, Ho-Chunk, Associate Professor of History, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Sascha Scott, Associate Professor of Art History, Native American and Indigenous Studies, Syracuse University

Fall 2020

  • Kate Bingaman-Burt, Printmaking
  • Tricia Treacy, Printmaking
  • Naomi Nakazato, Printmaking
  • Kieran Riley Abbot, Printmaking 
  • Alex Mendex, Art Education
  • Elizabeth Denneau, Art Education
  • Caroline Sinders, Graphic Design
  • Silas Munro, Graphic Design
  • Ayumi Hori, Ceramics
  • Osa Atoe, Ceramics